KBOC BA Regulations

69-15-1. Definitions. Each of the following terms, as used in this article, shall
have the meaning specified in this regulation: (a) < i
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ia “Body

art” means body piercing, tattooing, and cosmetic tattooing.

. (b) “Clean’mean washed-with-soap-or detergent-to-removeall-soil-and
dirt “Closed-book” means without aid from or availability of written material,
including materials stored or accessed on an electronic device, excluding language
translation materials approved by the board.

(c) “Closed-book™ i " ability-of writ

3

material,—including —materials—stored —or—acecessed —on—an—electronic—deviee
‘Completed procedure” means, for the purposes of determining qualification for
licensure, a tattoo or piercing that has been finished with the client released from

service.

from-serviee “Direct supervision” means a type of supervision in which the

(e)

. . P

means comparable but not identical, and covering the same subject matter, as

approved by the board.

(D . isi ’.’ . . . .. . . . .

3 5 E SlEEEliiE HHS%S, baet%{la’ ei
pathogeniefunei “Gross incompetence” means a demonstrated lack of ability,
knowledge, or fitness to effectively or safely perform services for which one is
licensed.

(2) A4 ARS8 AES 5 e ard;
eabinet “License” has the meaning specified in K.S.A. 77-502, and amendments

thereto.

(h) “Establisl " bigl  bod -
establishment-orcosmetictattooing—establishment “Needle” has the meaning
specified in K.S.A. 65-1940, and amendments thereto.

6] alent” mea arable but notidentica veringth
same-subjeet-matter “Official transcript” means a document provided by a school
or trainer licensed in Kansas or another state or jurisdiction, indicating the hours

and types of coursework, examinations, and scores that were completed by a

student.
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69-15-2. Approved course of study. (a)(H To be approved by the board, a
permanent—color—technieian—or tattoo artist, body piercing, or cosmetic tattoo

tralnmg program shall 1nclude at least 6(-}9—heafs—ef—ﬂ&eei=yuan€l—pr&eﬁeal

school—or1200 500 hours of theory and practrcal experience that 1nclude 50
completed procedures for each program;if-eempleted under the direct supervision
of an approved trainer.

A training program directly supervised by an approved trainer shall be
limited to one trainee or two apprentices.

) (1) Each program of permanent-cosmeties-and tattooing shall include
the following pereentage-of hours in its theory and practical experience:

. . Pereentage
Health, Safety and f.quipment
Subjeet-Health, Safety and Equipment ofhours Hours

|Needles ||
|Tattoo machines; equipment; and supplies ||

Safety, sanitation infection control, sterilization,
and blood-borne pathogens

|Basic color theory and pigments ||

|Placement of design ||

|Skin: Diseases, disorders, and conditions ||
|C1ient handling ||

wlle(Rw]h ||B]+w

Business operations and Kansas statutes, rules and

regulations statutes—and—regulations—pertaining—to
permanent cosmetics-and-tattooing 3

First aid and C.P.R, | |

Total of 350 hours of
above
|C1inica1 practice || 30 150 |
|Tota1 hours 600-In-schoel || 500 |

(2) Each program of body piercing shall include the following number
hours in its theory and practical experience:

. . Percentage
Subjeet-Health, Safety and Equipment of-heurs Hours
|Needles ” 7 |

Tattoo—machines; Body piercing equipment; and

. 20
supplies
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Safety, sanitation infection control, sterilization,
and blood-borne pathogens

Basic—color—theory—and pigments Skin: Diseases
disorders, and conditions
|P—l-aeeme&t—ef—éeagn Anatom ||
Skin-—Diseases;—disorders;—and-conditions Standard
precautions

|Gl-ie&t—h-a-&d—1—i-ng First aid and C.P.R. ||
Business operations and Kansas statutes, rules and

regulations statutes—and—regulations—pertaining—to

. | . 3
Jewelry and placement || |
Total of 350 hours of

above
|C1inica1 practice || 30 150 |
|T0ta1 hours 600-In-schoel || 500 |

(3) Each program of cosmetic tattooing shall include the following hours
in its theory and practical experience:

Pereentage
Subjeet Health, Safety and Equipment of-hours
Hours
|Hea-kh—&nd—sa£e%y Needles || 39 |

Sanitation— cterilization—and—blocod-born athooen
oafttation;—SterhZation;—ana—o1066-00re—pPatnogens

Cosmetic tattoo equipment and supplies
Skin—Diseases,—disorders,—and —conditions Safety,
infection control, sterilization and blood-borne

pathogens

|Aﬁatemy Basic color theory and pigments || |
|Hnwersal—p¥eea&ﬁeﬁs Placement of design || |
First—aid;—CPR- Skin: Diseases, disorders, and

conditions

Business operations and Kansas statutes, rules and
regulations
[First aid and C.P.R. [
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Total of 350
hours of
above
|Clinica1 practice/Praetieal || 50 150 |
|Need-}es,—equipmeﬁ{—aﬂd—5u-pp}ies Total hours || 500 |
|

[Client relations |-
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|He&l-th—&nd—s&fet—y | 50 |

Any apprentice or trainer may submit for approval of the board duplicate hours

obtained by an apprentice during the completion of training for credit toward
completion of a course of tattooing, cosmetic tattooing, or body piercing training

5 A B Vv ol Tl
. Authorized by K.S.A. 1996 Supp. 74-2702a and
implementing K.S.A. 1996 Supp. 65-1943 and 65-1949; effective Aug. 22, 1997.
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69-15-3. Cosmetic tattoo artist trainer, tattoo artist trainer, and body
piercing trainer. (a) Each applicant for initial licensure as a cosmetic tattoo artist
trainer, tattoo artist trainer, or body piercing trainer shall apply on forms provided
by the board and accompanied by the following:

(1) The nonrefundable trainer license fee;

(2) a valid Kansas cosmetic tattoo artist, body piercer, or tattoo artist
license number;

(3) documentation outlining the proposed training syllabus, which shall
meet the requirements of K.A.R. 69-15-2(a)(b);-er(e);

(4) the name and address of the licensed establishment where training
will be provided; and

(5) verification of five years of full-time, active practice;ecensisting—of
atJeast 1,500 -hours-per—year; as a licensed cosmetic tattoo artist, tattoo artist, or

body piercer in any state.

(b) In addit .G . t5-in-subseet eacl

as-an-advaneed-bedy-piereer Each trainer shall submit to the board a record of the
number of hours earned in the previous month and the total number of hours
accumulated through the previous month by each apprentice, on a form approved
by the board. The record shall include each apprentice’s name, address, and
apprentice license number and shall be submitted no later than the 10th day of

each month. Authorized by K.S.A. 74-2702a; implementing K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 65-1943, 65-1948,
and 65-1950; effective Aug. 27, 1997; amended Feb. 14, 2014.
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69-15-4. Out-of-state equivalent course of study. Each—applicant—-whohas

am)hcatlon to the Kansas board of cosmetologv on a form prov1ded for am)hcatlon
for a tattoo, cosmetic tattoo, or body piercing license, accompanied by the
application fee, a person practicing as a tattoo artist, cosmetic tattoo artist, or body
piercer under the laws of another state or jurisdiction shall be granted a license
entitling that person to practice in this state if:

(1) that person passes a twenty-question open book written examination
covering Kansas statutes and administrative rules and regulations of the board and
meets one of the following:

(A) that person holds a valid current license, registration or certification
another state, district or territory in the profession in which Kansas requires
licensure and has at least one year of work experience; or

(B) that person has worked in a state in which the profession is not
regulated for at least three in the last four years prior to the application date in the
profession in which Kansas requires licensure.

(b) i de
supe%s*eﬁ—ef—th%tfamer—er—m—a—seheel Each apphcant for hcensure shall be

required to attain a score of at least 75 percent on a twenty-question open book

written examination as spec1ﬁed in subsection (a)( 1).

K—A—R—69—15—2— Authorized by K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 65-1949 and K.S.A. 74-2702a; implementing
K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 65-1948 and 65-1949; effective Aug. 22, 1997; amended Feb. 14, 2014.
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69-15-5. Application for licensure by examination. (a) Before issuance of a
license, each applicant for tattoo, cosmetic tattoo, or body piercing licensure shall
have passed an examination as specified in K.A.R. 69-15-7.

(b) Each applicant for the tattoo, cosmetic tattoo, or body piercing
examination shall apply on forms provided by the board and accompanied by the
following:

(1) The nonrefundable examination application fee, the written
examination fee and the practlcal exammatlon fee

(2) v : : i
dﬁ'werls—heeﬂs%pasweft—er—b&th—eemﬁeate a current state or U S. government—
issued photo identification that includes the applicant’s date of birth;

(3) verification of the applicant’s graduation from an accredited high
school or completion of equivalent education, which shall mean any of the
following:

(A) A general education development (GED) credential;

(B) proof of program completion and hours of instruction at a
nonaccredited private secondary school registered with the state board of
education of Kansas, or of the state in which instruction was completed;

(C) proof of a score in at least the 50th percentile on either the American
college test (ACT) or the scholastic aptitude test (SAT); or

(D) proof of admission to a postsecondary state educational institution
accredited by the Kansas state board of regents or by another accrediting body
having minimum admission standards at least as stringent as those of the Kansas
state board of regents.

(4) verification of the applicant’s completion of eight hours of continuing
education in infection control and blood-borne pathogens within the previous 12-
month period, in addition to the infection control requirements of the training
program; and

completion of a training program equlvalent to the requirements of K.A.R. 69-15-

2. Authorized by K.S.A. 74-2702a; implementing K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 65-1943 and 65-1948; effective
Aug. 22, 1997, Feb. 14, 2014.
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69-15-6. Application completion and deadlines. (a) Applications for
examination shall be received at least 30 calendar days before the next scheduled
examination.

(b) Any application submitted during the 30-day period immediately
prior to the examination shall be reviewed, and if the applicant satisfies the
requirements, that person shall be scheduled for the subsequent examination.

(c) Applicants who fail to submit sufficient fees, complete
documentation, and verification of training or experience, or both, shall be
considered disqualified, and their application shall be closed. Examination fees
may be carried forward one time to the next scheduled examination.

(d) Any candidate for examination who fails to complete the
examination process within the following time limits shall be required to submit
a new application, documentation, and fees, according to this schedule:

(1) One year from receipt of application, if the applicant does not meet
the qualifications for examinations; or

(2) one year from the date that the last section of the examination was
attempted.

(e) Any candidate who meets the requirements of the examination and is
scheduled for the next examination may work in a licensed facility under the direct
supervision of a licensed permanent cosmetic technician, tattoo artist, or body

piercing technician until the candidate successfully passes the examination.
Authorized by and implementing L. 1996, Ch. 138, Sec. 4; effective Aug. 22, 1997.


Pryer, Aubrie [KBOC]
Triple-stamped, pending hearing for updates.
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69-15-7. Examination for cosmetic tattoo artists, tattoo artists, or body
piercers. (a) The examinations for tattoo, cosmetic tattoo, and body piercing shall
consist of both a written examination and a practical examination on safety,
sanitation, and standards of practice.

(b) The examinations shall test the applicant’s knowledge of the
following areas:

(1) Basic principles of safety, sanitation, and sterilization;

(2) Kansas laws and regulations;

(3) chemical use and storage;

(4) diseases and disorders including skin disease, HIV, hepatitis B, and
infectious or contagious diseases;

(5) equipment, supplies, tools, and implements;

(6) practice standards;

(7) establishment standards; and

(8) definitions.

(¢) The written examination shall consist of no more than 150 multiple-
choice questions and shall not exceed two hours in duration. The examination
shall be closed-book and shall be presented and conducted in English. The
examination shall consist of two sections, with one section composed entirely of
questions related to Kansas law.

(d) To test the applicant’s knowledge of infection-control practices and
practice standards, the practical examination shall evaluate the following:

(1) A setup for an actual procedure;

(2) a mock demonstration of a procedure; and

(3) a demonstration of the clean-up process for a procedure.

(e) To be eligible for licensure, each applicant shall attain a score of at
least 75 percent on each section of the written examination and a score of at least

75 percent on the practical examination. Authorized by K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 65-1943 and 65-
1948 and K.S.A. 74-2702a; implementing K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 65-1943 and 65-1948; effective Aug.
22, 1997; amended Feb. 14, 2014.


Pryer, Aubrie [KBOC]
Triple-stamped, pending hearing for updates
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69-15-8. Examination behavior. (a) Taking notes, textbooks, er-notebooks, or
electronic devices into the examination room shall be prohibited.

(b) An applicant shall be immediately disqualified during or after the
examination for conduct that interferes with the examination. Such conduct may
include the following behavior:

(1) Giving or receiving aid, directly or indirectly during the examination
process;

(2) obtaining help or information from notes, books, or other individuals
to answer questions;

(3) removing or attempting to remove any secure, examination-related
information or materials from the examination site;

(4) failing to follow directions relative to the conduct of the examination;

and

(5) exhibiting behavior that impedes the normal progress of the
examination.

(c) Disqualification shall invalidate the examination and result in
forfeiture of the examination and fee. The applicant shall be required to reapphy;

conducted-at-the board-effice. Authorized by K.S.A. 1996
K.S.A. 1996 Supp. 65-1948; effective Aug. 22, 1997.
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69-15-9. Issuance and renewal of licenses. (a) Each individual license shall
expire on the last day of the licensee's birth month. License fees shall be prorated
at the rate of 1/12th of the license fee for each month of the original license.

(b) A notice of renewal shall be mailed by the board to the last known
address of the license holder.

(c) The applicant shall apply for renewal in advance of the license
expiration date of the prior license.

(d) Renewal payments received in the board office or postmarked after
the expiration date but within one year of expiration shall be assessed a late fee in
addition to the annual renewal fee.

(e) A license that has been expired for more than one year but less than
three shall be deemed suspended and may be reactivated by payment of the
following:

(1) A suspended renewal fee for each year expired,

(2) areactivation fee; and

(3) a renewal fee.

(f) Any individual who fails to renew or reactivate a license within three
years from the date of expiration shall reapply to take the exams, submit the
examination fee and one-year licensee fee, and successfully pass all sections of

the examination before a license is reissued. Authorized by and implementing L. 1996, Ch.
138, Sec. 6; effective Aug. 22, 1997.


Pryer, Aubrie [KBOC]
Triple-stamped, pending hearing for updates.
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69-15-10. Display of license and inspection certificate. (a)

T

eurrent—practitioner—andfaecility license—and—a—copy—of-the latestinspection
eertifieate Each establishment license and most recent inspection report shall be
posted in public view in the lobby or waiting area of the establishment. Each
practitioner license shall be posted in public view of the establishment.

(b) A licensee shall not post a reproduction of any license unless the

board has issued and marked it "Duplicate."”
(c) A licensee shall not post a pocket identification card in lieu of a

license. Authorized by and implementing L. 1996, Ch. 138, Sec. 5(a); effective Aug. 22, 1997.
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69-15-11. Inspections generated by a complaint. (a) Each establishment shall
be subject to inspection by the board or its designee, in order to investigate a
specific complaint filed with the board, or to investigate any suspected violation
of sanitary rules and regulations or other violations of the act.

(b) An inspection generated by a complaint shall be authorized by the
board or its executive director at any time, subject to the following limitations:

(1) Inspections shall be made only between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and
6:00 p.m. or anytime the practice or instruction of permanent-color,tattootngor
bedy—piereing body art is being conducted, unless agreed otherwise by all
interested persons or entities.

(2) Inspections shall be conducted by the board members, the executive

director, employees, or agents of the board. Authorized by and implementing L. 1996, Ch.
138, Sec. 9(i); effective Aug. 22, 1997.
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69-15-12. Continuing education for license renewal. Each licensed cosmetic
tattoo artist, tattoo artist, and body piercer shall participate in continuing education
according to the following requirements:

(a) Each individual shall biennially complete five clock-hours, either as
one unit or a combination of units, not less than one hour each. Each individual
who fails to renew the license before its expiration shall meet the additional
continuing education requirements pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1943, and amendments
thereto.

(b) Continuing education courses shall be of the same subject matter
relating to the practice as the required curricula for training as a cosmetic tattoo
artist, tattoo artist, and body piercer and shall consist of either of the following:

(1) Participation in or attendance at an instructional program approved
by the board; or

(2) attendance at a meeting of the board, comprising up to one hour of
the total requirement, which shall not include the public comment portion of the
meeting.

(c) Each licensee seekmg credlt for attendance at or partlc1pat10n in an
educational program that- , . ;
te—th%be&rd—a—lﬁeqaest—fer—eyedﬁ— shall complete the form prov1ded bv the Board
which shall include the following information:

(1) The location of the program;

(2) the date of the program;

(3) the start and end times of the program,;

(4) a detailed description of the subject covered;

(5) the name of each instructor and the instructor’s qualifications; and

(6) a sign-in sheet or certificate of attendance, which shall include the
date, the program title, and the signature of the instructor.

(d) A license shall not be renewed without the board’s receipt and
approval of the individual’s continuing education as required by K.A.R. 69-15-

13. Authorized by K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 65-1945 and K.S.A. 74-2702a; implementing K.S.A. 2012
Supp. 65-1943 and 65-1945; effective Aug. 22, 1997; amended Feb. 14, 2014.
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renewal-shall net be-carried-forward: Authorized by K.S.A. 74-2702a; implementing K.S.A.
2012 Supp. 65-1943 and 65-1945; effective Aug. 22, 1997; amended Feb. 14, 2014.
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69-15-14. Cosmetic tattoo, tattoo, and body piercing establishment licensing
and renewal. (a) Each applicant for an establishment license shall meet the
following requirements before opening the establishment for business:

(1) Apply on a form approved by the board and pay the nonrefundable
establishment license fee;

(2) comply with all applicable regulations of the board;

(3) certify that application information is correct; and

i irecti cor_locating 4 R g

(b) Each establishment license shall expire one year from the last day of
the month in which the license was issued.

(c) Each establishment license holder shall be responsible for the
cleanliness and sanitation of any common area of separately licensed
establishments on the premises. Each violation found in the common area shall be
cited against all establishment licenses issued and posted on the premises.

(d) Each establishment license holder shall meet the following
requirements:

(1) Allow a board inspector to inspect the establishment when it is open
for business or as agreed by all interested persons or entities;

(2) not impede the normal progress of the inspection; and

(3) prevent employees from impeding the normal progress of the
inspection.

(e) Establishment licenses shall not be transferable to a new location.

(f) The ownership of establishment licenses shall not be transferred. A
partial change in the ownership of any establishment license may be allowed if at
least one original owner remains.

(g) Each establishment licensee shall notify the board in writing and
surrender the establishment license within 10 days of closure of the establishment.

(h)(1) Each applicant wanting to renew the establishment license shall
submit an application and the establishment renewal fee before the expiration date
of the current establishment license.

(2) Any establishment licensee may renew the establishment license
within 60 days after the expiration date of the prior establishment license upon
submission of an application and payment of the establishment renewal fee and

the delinquent establishment fee. Authorized by K.S.A. 74-2702a; implementing K.S.A. 2012
Supp. 65-1944, 65-1948, and 65-1950; effective Aug. 22, 1997; amended Feb. 14, 2014; amended
Sept. 18, 2015.




